Conference Sponsors

The CSA’s annual Caribbean Port Awards were this year won by two South American marine terminals.

Sociedad Portuaria de Cartagena (SPRC) in Colombia and N.V. Havenbeheer in Paramaribo, Suriname, took the top prizes while terminals in Guadeloupe, Barbados, Puerto Rico and Colombia won sectional prizes.

Gala Banquet

The announcement of the 2012 Caribbean Port Awards was made at the CSA’s gala banquet on 17th October in San Juan, Puerto Rico. The banquet marked the end of the Association’s 42nd Annual General Meeting, Conference and Exhibition, held over three days at La Concha.

SPRC has won this award on five previous occasions (2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2010). This is the second consecutive year that Suriname’s multipurpose port, N.V. Havenbeheer, has been victorious, having won last year for the first time.

By Mike Jarrett (Former CSA PR Director)

Perhaps the greatest contribution to regional development that the CSA has made in its 40-year history is the hosting of the annual Caribbean Port Awards competition.

On the request of the CSA’s governing General Council, the CSA’s Port Award Committee met in retreat in Jamaica in January and began a process of overhauling and improving this event. Out of this one-day retreat, a number of improvements for the 2012 Caribbean Port of the Year competition were discussed.

Ever since it was launched in 1987, the Caribbean Port Awards has encouraged and stimulated best practices in marine terminals across the entire Caribbean and Latin American region. This was the reason for its establishment and it has fulfilled this role for almost a quarter of a century.


Mission Statement

"To promote and foster the highest quality service to the maritime industry through training development; working with all agencies, groups and More...


4 Fourth Avenue, P.O. Box 1050

Kingston C.S.O., Jamaica

Tel: (876)923-3491 Fax: (876)7571592



fbook Facebook   rss  Rss Feed

©2013 Caribbean Shipping Association.

Powered by advantum logo